Big Jump Press

A loopy box with a drawer

loopybox01

Yesterday I finally got all my paperwork in to Penland for the boxmaking class I’ll be teaching in August. It got me all in a box making mood, so I decided to spend a few hours and make a box with a drawer in it. When I am out of practice with a structure or trying something new I usually make a quick sketch to try to think out the cuts. The measuring and the sequence of covering a box is always tricky in a weirdo, loopy box like this one, but if I concentrate for a few minutes I can come up with a rough plan. This box will essentially be a complicated slip case, so I make the drawer first and I’ll build from there.

I took the following photos for my future reference. I may decide to teach this box or make a set of instructions. But hey, I have a blog, so I am putting these images up for your viewing pleasure. These aren’t step by step instructions by any means. Beware blurriness.

loopybox03a

I take some measurements, cut down some board, and take a blurry photograph:

loopybox04

Box building commences:

loopybox05

and then box covering:

loopybox06

loopybox07

Making cuts:

loopybox08

Covering the last exposed bits and pieces:

loopybox09

And helloooooo there!

loopybox10

Time to make a little case. I decided to shoosh up the lid using my lucky foam trick. Plus I take another blurry photograph.

loopybox11

I make the case and attach it:

loopybox12

And here we are!

loopybox13

Look, here you can see the shooshiness:

loopybox14

As I consider this box now, I realize that it has the coloring of Kermit the Frog. But I stand by it. Will I make a handout for this weirdo thing? Perhaps. I do love making handouts after all. But for now this was just a loopy box experiment.

over and out.

17 comments on “A loopy box with a drawer

  1. Beth McKee
    December 12, 2013

    Very cool!

  2. Emm
    December 12, 2013

    Lovely! You are so clever.

  3. lgpaperarts
    December 12, 2013

    I love the way you brought us with you as you sketched and planned the box. That is exactly the way I do it too. Just designed a triangle and octagon box – figuring it all out is half the fun. I enjoy reading your tips and thoughts. So kind of you to share! Highest regards, Nancy

    Sent from my iPad Liberty Grove Paper Arts http://www.libertygrovepaperarts.com

    >

    • Big Jump Press
      December 12, 2013

      Hi Nancy, Thanks! I’d love to see your geometric box experiments sometime! I agree, I love the puzzle of it. Best wishes, Sarah

  4. Ellen Huntington Slade
    December 12, 2013

    I love the Kermit the frog color, by the way. And I am energized by the way you get into a project with that fool around with the skills you have way about you. Cool box!

  5. I never knew that “shoosh” was a technical term 🙂 I love the box! And thanks for the explanation of how you made it.

    • Big Jump Press
      December 12, 2013

      Oh yes! Although possibly it should be spelled zshoozsh. Thanks!

  6. Chris MacCormick
    December 12, 2013

    Oooh!

  7. sablewoodpress
    December 12, 2013

    This reminds me of that crazy pyramid box I made for my final project. Do you remember it??

    • Big Jump Press
      December 12, 2013

      Of course I remember! Yes indeed! I thought of that box today. I have photos of it somewhere.

  8. Rich Hinton
    January 17, 2014

    Love your boxes. I’m just getting into box making as a natural progression from book binding. Hopefully I’ll be able to make something as beautiful as this one day!

    • Big Jump Press
      January 17, 2014

      Thanks so much Rich! Good luck with your transition to box making. Beware, it is addictive. I just spent another day off on boxes. Pencil boxes with bone clasps this time. Best wishes!

  9. jim wolfe
    February 4, 2014

    please what kind of board is used to make this????

    • Big Jump Press
      February 4, 2014

      Hi Jim, I used Grayboard. Davey board and museum board (as well as a few other things) will also work.

  10. Linda
    October 28, 2014

    Just found this post…the foam technique is so cool. But better than that I can now see how I need to make my double height box (one layer for the book and one with partitions for related bits) for my never ending book project…..i feel a prototype build coming on 🙂

    • Big Jump Press
      October 29, 2014

      Excellent! Good luck with your prototype! Send photos if you can!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2013 by in Bookbinding, How I do things. and tagged , .