Big Jump Press

Sometimes one must buy a tiny saw.

I am refining the design of the enclosure for Figure Study, my new project (and kickstarter victory!) with David Allen. One of the features of this book is a place to compare loose sheets of drafting film, the central area in the example below.

Figurestudymockup01

But how to make this an intuitive and functional area? In my early mockups I’ve tried a few solutions to this problem. In the mockup above, I am using two pieces of double thickness binder’s board covered in paper to catch and trap the sheets in the same position relative to one another.

IMG_3591

But these bars are kind of lumpy and I don’t like their arrangement. An earlier attempt saw a book cloth covered bar at the top of the comparison area:

IMG_3593

But this was similarly problematic, and of course without another bar or stop there was no way to quickly get the sheets together the way the are intended to be viewed. My first mockup, although troubled in many other ways, has my favorite solution:

IMG_3592

A little corner made of binder’s board covered in paper. Lumpy? yes. A perfect right angle? No. But perhaps the right direction to go. More recently, I’ve been thinking about wood. A quick test in balsa on this small mockup got me thinking that the best solution might just be a set of two wooden corners arranged diagonally from one another.

IMG_3590

Enter the internet and a search for tiny strips of wood. I landed at Westbourne Model Company and ordered strips of walnut in a variety of sizes:

IMG_3588

And when one is shopping at a model company for tiny strips of wood, how can one resist a tiny saw? And once one has bought tiny strips of wood and a tiny saw, and one knows that one has plans to make tiny corners, one simply must invest in a tiny miter box, mustn’t one? Anyway, that is what this one did.

IMG_3583

IMG_3586

A little glue, a little sandpaper, a little linseed oil, and kaboom:

IMG_3585

IMG_3589

IMG_3600

Stay tuned to see some walnut corners in action as my mockup pile continues to grow.

IMG_3595

4 comments on “Sometimes one must buy a tiny saw.

  1. Jennifer Viviano
    July 8, 2014

    Oh, how I LOVE that tiny saw and that tiny miter box! I truly think I need one of each—and I’m not doing anything that even remotely requires a saw right now!

    • Big Jump Press
      July 8, 2014

      Get the tiny saw and the tiny miter box and the tiny job will come!!

  2. sappling
    October 7, 2014

    I love your problem solving–and I love adding unexpected elements to boxes. I think I’m going to have to take a leaf out of your book for the next box I do and use tiny pieces of wood. And if I have to buy a tiny saw and miter box, too, so be it 😉

    • Big Jump Press
      October 11, 2014

      Do it! One must! I love my tiny miter box, it makes me want to saw tiny things all day. The same kind of craving I get from the Japanese screw punch.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2014 by in Bookbinding, Work in progress and tagged , , , .
