Big Jump Press

The Pine Cone is an Object of Veneration

The prints continue. Today: The Pine Cone is an Object of Veneration. I spent a few minutes over coffee in the morning finalizing an idea in Indesign. Taking a printout with me as a guide saves me at least an hour on the press, even if I make significant changes over the course of the day. Below: I make a printing map I will later use to lay down my polymer plate.

I’ve only got one plate to use, so it is slow going as I print it in fifteen positions.

About six hours later, I am almost finished:

When I had printed all of the yellow clothespin rays, I added some red to the rollers on the press. I wanted one of these shapes to be slightly orange.  But when I tried this out:

It immediately looked too much like this:

While I am a fan of both Children’s Thanksgiving Art and the holiday itself, I am not looking to go in this direction with my work right now. So I tried this instead:

I’ve used inkless, deep impressions of the various objects throughout the book and the related prints. It is partly related to my plan to discard these objects at the end of this project after keeping some of them for more than a decade. Here is a detail:

At the end of the day, I cleaned up and put everything back in my flat file. Look how quiet the last two prints look next to this one:

One more run, I think possibly a birds egg blue under the pine cone. Then text. Then onto the next print. The Clothespin Causes Someone to Remember Something, perhaps?

3 comments on “The Pine Cone is an Object of Veneration

  1. Lara
    October 3, 2012

    Love. Pine cones deserve some holy rays emanating from their tops.

  2. Maggie Heineman
    October 3, 2012

    My first thought was pineAPPLE which is an interesting transition from pineCONE.

  3. Glenn House Sr.
    October 3, 2012

    THREETENDAY GENIUS AT WORK.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2012 by in Letterpress, Work in progress and tagged , , , , , .
